Reusable Sandwich Bags

I pack lunches for our whole family twice a week. The kids also get a morning snack and an afternoon snack. I quickly discovered how many ziplock baggies we used in one day… enough to choke a whale.

I was putting their sandwiches in plastic tupperware-type containers, but I also discovered that these took up a lot of room in their lunch boxes.

I also like our earth and would like to do my small part in conserving its resources. Obviously when it is somewhat convenient to me, but nonetheless.

So while the kids ate their lunch today I sewed up some reusable sandwich baggies. With the leftover fabric I made smaller baggies for crackers and such. I don’t expect these will last too terribly long. I didn’t put much effort into making them sturdy and Sam-proof. They are far from perfect, but since I had the fabric and other materials, I figured it was worth it.

I cut up some large ziplock bags and lined the fabric. I folded and sewed the sides, added a velcro closure, reinforced with some hot glue, and that’s it! I had to add some cuteness to Antonella’s, and I did have to convince the boys that theirs was a jungle print, not flowers.

The fabric I used for the boys’ baggies is a thin flannel that I think will hold up better. I hope to be able to wipe these clean most of the time, and rinse them out when I need to.

I would like to make baggies for their snacks as well to differentiate between the AM and PM snack easily, so I will report back when I get around to those! Maybe I’ll use a pattern and zippers and hidden seams… Nah, it has to be done before the kids finish eating!

5 thoughts on “Reusable Sandwich Bags

  1. I would love to see what all those lunches look like for those two days!!! What do u pack for lunch and snacks? Request for next post please…lol!

  2. I love it! I recently saw a post at Angry Chicken about making these and have been wanting to do so ever since. Hers weren’t lined at all, but I think I read somewhere in the comments that you can also line them with ripstop nylon or something like that.

  3. Just read your post on these sandwich bags. Just a thought in making them a bit more durable – there is a type of “fabric” that you can get that is like a laminate for paper. You iron it on and it puts on a plastic, wipeable surface. It is used a lot for table clothes. I have seen it at Joanne’s Fabric stores.
    There is also a flannel that is lined with a plastic type back and I have used it for sheets on the bed when I was potty training – it kept the bed from getting wet and was washable. It might be useful for these bags as well.

Leave a Reply

