Surprising- part two

Our first house was a 1922 bungalow that needed quite a bit of work. Our second house was a 1940 bungalow and we didn’t live there long enough to do much to it.  With this last house came a lot more room and more kids that needed beds to sleep on and chairs to sit on.  I’m guessing that is the reason why we have never purchased a bed for us. Other things always seemed to take priority.

So when I found out Neil was going to be out of town for our anniversary I started planning.  I wanted to accomplish two things- I wanted a bed for us and I wanted our bedroom to be simple, light and peaceful.  I knew that Neil wanted those things too. With limited time and a limited budget, and lots of help from my mom and dad, I am so happy with the result and Neil was SO surprised!

He was even more surprised when I told him that my dad and I MADE the bed!

Tomorrow I will share how we made it, and details on the rest of the bedroom!

12 thoughts on “Surprising- part two

  1. My husband is in our basement making that EXACT bed (from the Knock-Off Wood plans) as I type! Can I ask what paint color and brand you used? I can’t tell from the photos, but did you put a stain over the paint to make it look more distressed and antiquey like she talked about it one of her posts? I think that’s what we’re going to do but I haven’t decided on colors yet.

    Okay, I guess I should go help my husband now… 🙂

    • Haley- yes it is from knock-off wood! The bed turned out so much better than I expected! I used antique white by Glidden (I had a Martha Stewart color picked out… milk something… but the glidden one was exactly like it and cheaper!). We sanded the edges and corners and covered them in a mocha glaze- I’ll post more details later! The paint and finish was actually what I was most nervous about, but we sanded in between coats and it turned out great. Let me know how yours turns out!

  2. So when Jenny showed me those pictures you sent her, I started drooling all over. I LOVE IT! I can’t wait to hear how you made it; I’ve been dying to know!

  3. Pingback: Surprising- part three « the bumper crop

  4. Your bed is beautiful! I purchased the same quilt about a year ago, and I am finally making time to get this bed made and put together our guest room. I am struggling to find a paint color I like for the bedroom walls. Can you share with me the color you used on the walls in your bedroom? Thanks for your help!

  5. I love your bed, but I love your piece of furniture next to the bed even more! Where did you buy it or where did you get the plans to build it? I might have to copy your bedrooms furniture combination because it’s perfect for our size room.

Leave a comment