Cooking with Fire

Some traditions, especially ones within families, develop and take shape over the years without any one ever calling them a tradition. Cooking with fire is one of those in my family. From the typical asado to outdoor ovens, these things have been part of my life since I was little and I never realized how “traditional” they are for us. My family also has a particular tradition that has been part of my life for as long as I can remember, but no one ever calls it a tradition and it is never planned.

Picture eight adults and seven children around the table sharing a meal. Turn up the volume… that’s my family. It happens every Sunday afternoon, on birthdays, and often unplanned dates. Most families do this, but once everyone settles in to eat at our table, someone always says, “A round of applause for the cook!”

And ever one claps. Really.

My brother had us over for pizza the other night. He designed and built an outdoor brick oven and put it to the test.

The oven heats up to 1000 degrees and the pizza takes just a few minutes to cook. Not only is the oven itself beautiful, the pizza was amazing. It tasted nothing like the pizza I am used to and it’s hard to believe what a short time in the intensity of that fire can do to the flavor.

We all loved the pizza. The kids kept asking for more. We all joked about never ordering pizza over the phone again, much less buying it frozen. And as soon as our mouths were full and the conversation paused… we clapped for the cook.

3 thoughts on “Cooking with Fire

  1. my goodness that sounds absolutely heavenly…brick oven cooked pizza (REAL BRICK OVEN COOKED).
    you have such an interesting (aka awesome) family.

  2. Um- If I was a brick oven, I’d want to be that one. That is beautiful and ridiculously cool.

    What was your favorite kind of pizza y’all made?

  3. I studied in Argentina in college and seeing the brick oven your brother built brings back happy memories of asados con mi familia argentina. And that pizza looks amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

