A couple more things…

I answered some of your questions about the beds at the bottom of the post… Scroll down to read more information about the bolts, heights, safety and more.

The paint color is Creek Bend by Behr. My husband picked it out and I was really not convinced. It wasn’t until the beds were hung that I fell in love with it!

The ladder, seen unfinished here, was built by my dad for our library… and we cut it down to fit both the beds! He’s happy for it to get more use!

Please let me know if you build the beds–I would love to see pictures!

20 thoughts on “A couple more things…

  1. OMgoodness! I am beyond inspired! We have been looking for a way to cram our 3 boys into one bedroom and you have done it. I am curious… approximately how big is the boys’ bedroom?

    If you don’t mind emailing me I would really appreciate it.

  2. Pingback: Three Boys, One Room « the bumper crop

  3. What a great room!! We also have 3 boys in a room and we just built hanging lofts. Ours are a bit different as they have a cable that goes through the ceiling to the attic and around the rafters. I think the look of the ropes is very fun though! I was actually wondering about lights you have on the wall next to the beds. Where did you purchase them? Thanks!

  4. I LOVE THIS ROOM!!! I found it yesterday and I jumped right on the phone and called my husband at work to show him! We have 4 kids as well and have to squeeze them all in 2 rooms. You guys rock!
    I have a question?? How big is you boy’s room? What are the dimensions?
    You can email me at chelleulm@gmail.com if you get a second to respond! Thanks for your time and GREAT JOB on the room. Stunning!!!

  5. Can you update on the light? We just purchased a used loft bed but would like to have some light up top as well as below. I love it! The room is AWESOME! and thank you for sharing!

  6. Is the room still working out for your family? Also, did you ever post on how to change the lights to battery operated LED lights?

  7. I was absolutely inspired by your beds & my husband & I put our own spin on things. I really love the lights… I would love for you to share with me how you turned them into battery operated LEDs. I would love to share a pic w/you… Thanx so much for the inspiration =]

  8. We are about to put 3 in one room. Was going to do a big platform with two kids on top and another bed about 4 ft. high sticking out, but no legs would add room to the small space. What type of wood did you use? Maple? Where did you buy the wood? I had called up a local lumber yard, but they said they would have to order the maple. Love this idea.

  9. Hi! I was very inspired by your pictures and I’m building my own bed in this style. The only problem I haven’t figured out yet is how to measure the ropes so you get the right angle. How did you tie the ropes so that you have an angle of 90 degrees from the wall, even when you’re in bed?

    Hope this message will get to you!

    Thank you

  10. Can i have your Measurements and supply list emailed to me . I would really appreciate it. We hv 3 new boys in our house and just one room to put them in. I know this would be so special . They would love it. Thank you for your time.

    Ilene

  11. Oh.My.Goodness…I have fallen in love. I have been looking high and low for a way to create more space in our boys room, which is 10×10…2 in each room. I have looked into bunk beds and loft beds and nothing seemed to work but, this idea looks like winner. Can I have your measurements and supply list emailed to me . I would really appreciate it. Thank you!!

  12. Oh.My.Goodness…I have fallen in love. I have been looking high and low for a way to create more space in our boys room, which is 10×10…2 in each room. I have looked into bunk beds and loft beds and nothing seemed to work but, this idea looks like winner. Can I have your measurements and supply list emailed to me . I would really appreciate it. Thank you

  13. hi there,, were are looking into doing these beds for my girls room… the eye bolts in the wall studs, have they held up well? Is there a minimum angle that they need to be to be structurally sound? Thanks for any info you can give…

  14. HI :))
    I’ve been desperately looking for sleeping options for a NYC studio
    Apartment.
    I would like to know if you give service in NYC ?

    I appreciate all the help you could provide.

    Kindly,

    Angela

  15. Hi, I have never built anything but I want to build this:) can you give me an idea of the different
    size wine boxes you used. I want to hang this on the wall of the girls room and make it large.

    Thank you for the push.

  16. Hi,

    We love this idea. I noticed some of your changes from the original plans. Did you post your measurements and materials anywhere? The original one seems a little too wide.
    If not, would you be willing to email them? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

