Someday maybe

Wednesday was better than Tuesday. Our friends from church own a large property with lakes and trails just twenty minutes away. We took an impromptu day trip to go fishing and exploring. The kids are so content out in nature. They love everything about it- the preparation, the endless fields, the easy-to-catch fish, the fire, and the roasted marshmallows!

My grandfather still lives on the farm where my mom grew up. They used to have cattle, chickens, horses, and a large garden. I spent my summers there growing up- it was, and still is, my favorite place.

Neil’s grandmother lives on their family farm. Acres of wooded wonderland, hunting, fishing and blueberry bushes. We visit her every Spring Break, and although the farm is no longer in full glory as it was when Grandad was alive, it is my kids’ favorite place.

So being out on the farm with the kids this week awakened in me once again the desire, the dream, to someday own our own farm. A small farm- I am not oblivious to how much work it is to own land and animals.

I joked about moving in my last post, but the reality is that there are very few reasons that we can think of to move. We live in a great place and are very content here. But being out in nature, seeing my kids run and fish and dig and explore, makes me remember, and it makes me dream.

4 thoughts on “Someday maybe

  1. Don’t worry, I’m dreaming that very same dream over in my corner of the world. Happy for the moments we do get in touch with nature, but dreaming of a little more … my dream involves peach trees … how about yours?

Leave a Reply

