Dress Rescue

I bought Antonella a dress a few months back, and the first time she wore it she got pizza grease on it. Grease stains on a grey dress are impossible to remove and impossible to ignore. After we tried all kinds of  stain removals, store bought and homemade, the dress sat in our laundry room for weeks. I thought about turning it into a shirt, but my inexperience with sewing knit fabric kept me from attempting the task. Really, I thought, I can come up with something. I thought about embroidering flowers all over it to hide the stains, but again, the knit fabric. Oh, and I don’t know how to embroider.

Looks like the dress is no longer available, but here it is on eBay.

A couple of weeks ago I found some felted flowers at Hobby Lobby and they were on sale for 50% off! I glued them on her dress to cover the stains…

 

 

Good enough to wear until she grows out of it. Which, by the way, is happening way too fast.

 

6 thoughts on “Dress Rescue

  1. I love the flowers on the dress!! Did you try Dawn dish soap on the grease? That’s what I use, and it almost always does the job (make sure it’s not dawn with bleach, I learned that the hard way)

  2. Have you tried using Dawn dish detergent to remove grease stains? I have had 100% sucess with it on all the materials I have tried. I never see much about it, but it was an old trick my mother taught me…

    I dab some directly onto the grease stain, rub it in, let it sit for a while, then launder as usual. It works WONDERS.

    p.s. It has to be Dawn. Nothing else works as well!

Leave a Reply

