To my daughter, about my mother

Antonella,

Your Mamu was there when you were born, and she stayed for a week after to help me. I have a very clear memory of her sitting on the edge of my bed while I tried to nurse you. I was trying and you were hungry and it hurt so bad. With tears in her eyes, she said, “I wish I could take the pain for you.”

I know she would have. And I think this memory has stayed with me because as I held you in that moment I realized that I would know her, my mother, in a new way now. Because of you, I would understand her, who she is and what she has been for the majority of her life- a mother. And her simple, honest words in that moment showed me so much about what it means to be a mom.

She has, in so many ways, carried my pain. Practically she has served me endlessly and unselfishly. She has taken care of me without a thought to her own needs. She has listened to me and counseled me, never judging. But most of all I know that every pain that I have experienced has been carried to the Throne of Mercy by her. And as I have been overwhelmed by her love and protection of me all my life, I so wish to love and protect you.

Your grandmother, Antonella, showed me that being a mother is a joy-filled privilege. And you proved her right.

It is a happy Mother’s Day.

6 thoughts on “To my daughter, about my mother

  1. Marian,
    This was so precious. How very sweet and meaningful. Your two ladies have a special bond! Nothing like being a Mommy and now Grandmomma!

Leave a Reply

